Can a geothermal system be profitable?

Share Button

Tweet   Case study… It seems miraculous: a source of free energy! During winter, heat your home by drawing heat from the ground. During summer, cool your home and remove excess humidity. This can save you up to 70% of standard electric heating costs.   How does it work? Geothermal systems take advantage of the…

The Heat pump “battle” carries on… Air Source versus Ground Source

Share Button

Tweet   Variable speed compressor technology is not restricted to geothermal heat pumps. It had first found its way into what are often considered ground source’s poor cousins: air source heat pumps (ASHP). Both types of heat pumps use a refrigeration cycle to draw heat from the outside in winter to heat a building, and…

Designing Your Horizontal Closed Earth Loop

Share Button

Tweet   A geothermal heat pump’s earth loop installation is not just a matter of burying some pipes and hooking these pipes to your geothermal heat pump. Your earth loop must be matched to the home, and the geothermal heat pump, that it is coupled to. So, the first step in sizing an earth loop…

Thinking outside of the geothermal box

Share Button

Tweet   The geothermal industry is in full transition. We are still feeling the effects  of the end of subsidies in Canada – especially in the residential sector. New factors could create substantial opportunities, with possible concerted efforts between the government, businesses and municipalities; this industry is poised to become an important economic generator in…

Let’s demystify Geothermal Heating & Cooling

Share Button

Tweet   This is the beginning of a blog where geothermal heating & cooling matters most, above but not beyond other renewables, where quality installations will be showcased and where people can share their thoughts & opinions related to the HVAC industry. Geothermal Heat Pump Systems (GHPS) could potentially reduce the amount of energy used…

Rentable, un système géothermique? Une étude de cas….

Share Button

    Ça semble miraculeux: une source d’énergie gratuite! L’hiver, vous chauffez votre maison en puisant la chaleur dans le sol. L’été, vous la climatisez et dissipez l’excès d’humidité. On peut ainsi économiser jusqu’à 70% des coûts de chauffage d’un système électrique ordinaire.   Quel est le principe? Les systèmes géothermiques profitent de la stabilité…

Le défi des thermopompes perdure… thermopompe à air versus thermopompe géothermique

Share Button

  La technologie du compresseur à vitesse variable n’est pas exclusive aux thermopompes géothermiques. Celle-ci était déjà disponible avec ce qu’on le considère comme le cousin pauvre de la géothermie: la thermopompe à air. Ces deux types de thermopompes utilisent un cycle de réfrigération pour prélever la chaleur de l’extérieur en hiver pour chauffer un…

Concevoir et réaliser l’installation de votre boucle géothermique horizontale

Share Button

  La réalisation d’un circuit fermé souterrain ne se résume pas à enfouir des tuyaux sous la terre et de les raccorder à la thermopompe géothermique. Le circuit fermé souterrain doit être conforme aux besoins de la maisonnée et à la thermopompe géothermique à laquelle il sera couplé: il est crucial de suivre chaque étape…

Une compagnie novatrice en géothermie

Share Button

  L’industrie de la géothermie est en pleine transition. Bien qu’encore tributaire des subventions directes au Canada – surtout dans le secteur résidentiel – certains nouveaux facteurs structurants créent des opportunités substantielles qui, avec une action concertée entre le gouvernement, les entreprises et les municipalités, pourraient permettre de faire de cette industrie, un moteur économique…

La géothermie démystifiée

Share Button

  Ceci est le premier billet d’une série consacrée au chauffage et à la climatisation à partir d’un système géothermique. Une plateforme par laquelle des sujets variés sur cette énergie renouvelable seront abordés, des installations de qualité seront présentées et des commentaires et opinions sur l’industrie du CVAC pourront être partagés. Les systèmes de thermopompes…