The 5 facts to consider when opting for geothemal

Share Button

For many years now, geothermal systems have kept the promise of saving significant amounts of energy. The biggest obstacle has traditionally been the upfront cost. Let’s look at five features that may help you in the all-important decision making process. #1 – Works “magically” like a fridge How many people can actually explain how their refrigerator removes heat from…

Geothermal heat pumps making a difference

Share Button

Tweet   Lessons learned from our neighbors to the south… Below is an article that demonstrates the power of GSHP’s if & when they are deployed on a larger scale than ever before.  We still have much to learn from our best & most trusted allies.  Is Canada ever going to use the 30% tax…

Home Automation for geothermal heat pumps

Share Button

Tweet     Consumers may be more familiar with names like Nest, Hue, Belkin & Prestige when it comes to home automation but the WaterFurnace Symphony Web-Enabled Home Comfort Platform is setting the standard for our industry. Unlike many other smart thermostats, Symphony ties into the Aurora control board to provide a much deeper level…

Three Most Common Mistakes Made by Geothermal Designers

Share Button

Tweet   Working in the ground source heat pump (GSHP) industry, you will find yourself answering the same questions with each new customer. Get used to it. If you work in the industry long enough, you will be asked every question under the sun. How will this system heat my home when the soil temperatures…

Can a geothermal system be profitable?

Share Button

Tweet   Case study… It seems miraculous: a source of free energy! During winter, heat your home by drawing heat from the ground. During summer, cool your home and remove excess humidity. This can save you up to 70% of standard electric heating costs.   How does it work? Geothermal systems take advantage of the…

The Heat pump “battle” carries on… Air Source versus Ground Source

Share Button

Tweet   Variable speed compressor technology is not restricted to geothermal heat pumps. It had first found its way into what are often considered ground source’s poor cousins: air source heat pumps (ASHP). Both types of heat pumps use a refrigeration cycle to draw heat from the outside in winter to heat a building, and…

Designing Your Horizontal Closed Earth Loop

Share Button

Tweet   A geothermal heat pump’s earth loop installation is not just a matter of burying some pipes and hooking these pipes to your geothermal heat pump. Your earth loop must be matched to the home, and the geothermal heat pump, that it is coupled to. So, the first step in sizing an earth loop…

Thinking outside of the geothermal box

Share Button

Tweet   The geothermal industry is in full transition. We are still feeling the effects  of the end of subsidies in Canada – especially in the residential sector. New factors could create substantial opportunities, with possible concerted efforts between the government, businesses and municipalities; this industry is poised to become an important economic generator in…

Let’s demystify Geothermal Heating & Cooling

Share Button

Tweet   This is the beginning of a blog where geothermal heating & cooling matters most, above but not beyond other renewables, where quality installations will be showcased and where people can share their thoughts & opinions related to the HVAC industry. Geothermal Heat Pump Systems (GHPS) could potentially reduce the amount of energy used…

Les 5 facteurs à considérer dans le choix de la géothermie

Share Button

Depuis plusieurs années, les systèmes géothermiques ont tenu la promesse de faire économiser d’importantes quantités d’énergie. Le plus grand obstacle à l’essor de cette technologie a toujours été son coût initial. Regardons de près cinq caractéristiques qui peuvent vous aider dans le très important processus de prise de décision. #1 – Fonctionne tout comme votre…

La géothermie peut faire une grande différence

Share Button

Une leçon de nos voisins du Sud Le texte qui suit démontre le potentiel des thermopompes géothermiques si elles sont implantées à une échelle plus grande que jamais auparavant. Il y a encore beaucoup à apprendre de nos voisins du Sud, nos meilleurs et plus fidèles alliés. Est-ce que le Canada parviendra aussi un jour…

Les systèmes géothermiques et la domotique

Share Button

    Quand il s’agit de domotique, les consommateurs sont probablement familiers avec les noms tels que Nest, Hue et Belkin & Prestige. Cependant, la plateforme de contrôle par Internet Symphony de WaterFurnace est une véritable référence dans l’industrie géothermique. À la différence de la majorité des contrôles intelligents disponibles sur le marché, le Symphony…

Les trois erreurs les plus couramment commises par les concepteurs de systèmes géothermiques

Share Button

  En œuvrant dans l’industrie de la technologie de l’énergie géothermique, vous ferez face aux mêmes questions de la part de chaque nouveau client. Prenez-en votre partie, car si vous y travaillez assez longtemps, vous répondrez à toutes les questions imaginables. Comment ce système pourra chauffer ma maison lorsque les températures du sol seront seulement…

Rentable, un système géothermique? Une étude de cas….

Share Button

    Ça semble miraculeux: une source d’énergie gratuite! L’hiver, vous chauffez votre maison en puisant la chaleur dans le sol. L’été, vous la climatisez et dissipez l’excès d’humidité. On peut ainsi économiser jusqu’à 70% des coûts de chauffage d’un système électrique ordinaire.   Quel est le principe? Les systèmes géothermiques profitent de la stabilité…

Le défi des thermopompes perdure… thermopompe à air versus thermopompe géothermique

Share Button

  La technologie du compresseur à vitesse variable n’est pas exclusive aux thermopompes géothermiques. Celle-ci était déjà disponible avec ce qu’on le considère comme le cousin pauvre de la géothermie: la thermopompe à air. Ces deux types de thermopompes utilisent un cycle de réfrigération pour prélever la chaleur de l’extérieur en hiver pour chauffer un…

Concevoir et réaliser l’installation de votre boucle géothermique horizontale

Share Button

  La réalisation d’un circuit fermé souterrain ne se résume pas à enfouir des tuyaux sous la terre et de les raccorder à la thermopompe géothermique. Le circuit fermé souterrain doit être conforme aux besoins de la maisonnée et à la thermopompe géothermique à laquelle il sera couplé: il est crucial de suivre chaque étape…

Une compagnie novatrice en géothermie

Share Button

  L’industrie de la géothermie est en pleine transition. Bien qu’encore tributaire des subventions directes au Canada – surtout dans le secteur résidentiel – certains nouveaux facteurs structurants créent des opportunités substantielles qui, avec une action concertée entre le gouvernement, les entreprises et les municipalités, pourraient permettre de faire de cette industrie, un moteur économique…

La géothermie démystifiée

Share Button

  Ceci est le premier billet d’une série consacrée au chauffage et à la climatisation à partir d’un système géothermique. Une plateforme par laquelle des sujets variés sur cette énergie renouvelable seront abordés, des installations de qualité seront présentées et des commentaires et opinions sur l’industrie du CVAC pourront être partagés. Les systèmes de thermopompes…